6th Grade Immunization Requirements
**PROOF THAT 6TH GRADE IMMUNIZATIONS WERE RECEIVED MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE SCHOOL NURSE BY MONDAY, AUGUST 14. 2023. If you child will not turn 11 until after August 14th, an appointment note from the physician is required. This appointment should take place within 2 weeks of the child turning 11 years of age.
Children who do not meet immunization requirements or do not have documentation of a scheduled appointment within two weeks of turning 11 years of age will be excluded from school beginning the first school day.
- Tdap: New Jersey State law requires children born after January 1, 1997 and entering or attending 6th grade shall have received one dose of Tdap (Tetanus, diphtheria, acellular pertussis) given no earlier than the 10th birthday.
- Meningococcal vaccine: New Jersey State law also requires that every child born after January 1, 1997, and entering or attending 6th grade shall have received one dose of a meningococcal-containing vaccine.*Please note: This applies to students when they turn 11 years of age and attending Grade Six. If your child will not be 11 at the start of 6th grade, please provide a note from your child's physician that an appointment is scheduled within two weeks of your child turning 11 years of age.
*Those who received a Td booster within 5 years are not required to get the Tdap until 5 years have elapsed from the last DTP/DTaP or Td dose.
**Depending on the manufacturer of the vaccine your physician may not be able to administer the DTaP vaccine until your child reaches age 11. If this is the case, please provide documentation that an appointment is scheduled and proof of vaccination once it is administered.